All I want is a salad!!

1 05 2008

I’ve had this on going problem here in NL when it comes to salads in restaurants.  For some reason I can’t get a salad….lettuce…the green leafy stuff that goes well with things like cucumbers, tomatoes, or nothing at all but the leafy stuff.   I’ve had salads where I think 2 or 3 lettuce leaves were used and even then they were shredded beyond all recognition.  

For example, today we went for dinner at a very nice Dutch restaurant.  I wanted soup and salad since I’m not overly hungry.  I got that soup and it was really good might I add, even though Frank’s bowl had a piece of wood in it.  Then came my salad..

.

Now look closely, under the MOUND of extremely salty ham (which I’m not a fan of) and turkey there’s about 1/2 cup of salad that was mix in with blue cheese.   What’s the yellow stuff you ask?  Baby corn cut up.  YUMMY!  Then with the candies nuts on my plate it just added the final touch.  Really… would it kill them to slice up a head of lettuce?

*sigh* I’m going to have to start bringing my own romaine.

Actions

Information

2 responses

30 05 2008
Sonya

Isnt it awful what they consider to be salad here? The “pancakes” and syrup they use here is just plain odd to me and I dont like it. A family member just sent me a box full of maple syrup that Im used to,dry ranch dressing packets,seasoning and various other items. Im in total heaven:o) I miss dill pickles too..real dill pickles.

30 05 2008
melissapavlica

I hear you on the “real” dill pickles. These ones just taste off to me. It drives me nuts with the salad. I want more lettuce and less filler when I order one. Also I wish the sour cream came in bigger containers, not the yougurt sized ones!

Leave a Reply

